Getting ready for the 35th Annual Interiors Awards Breakfast

Contract editors are hard at work getting ready for the 35th Annual Interiors Awards Breakfast, held January 24th in New York. The ceremony honors the winners of the Interiors Awards, which recognize projects across 14 categories, as well as the Designer of the Year and Legend Award winner.

But a lot more goes on behind the scenes to make the breakfast and and the January/February edition of Contract magazine possible.


The glass awards have arrived at Contract’s office. This is the first year that the Interiors Awards will have been produced by Tiffany & Co.

Work began months ago when design firms across the country submitted more than 400 entries for consideration. The submission process was entirely online for the first time this year—rather than mailing in binders—easing the submission process.

In October, a five-member jury gathered at Contract‘s office in New York to view the entries and select winners. The field was narrowed in a Starbucks-fueled marathon judging session, until 14 winners emerged.


From left to right: Joey Shimoda
, Chief Creative Officer, Shimoda Design Group
, Contract’s 2013 Designer of the Year; Andreas Charalambous
, Principal, FORMA Design; Anne Schopf, FAIA
, Design Partner, Mahlum Architects; Siobhan Barry
, Partner, ICRAVE; LoriAnn Maas, 
Principal and Design Director of Interiors, Swanke Hayden Connell Architects.

Also, the 2014 Designer of the Year and 2014 Legend Award winners have been selected, and videos about both are in production now for the Interiors Awards Breakfast. This will be the first year that women alone win both Designer of the Year and the Legend Award in the same year, and the 2014 honorees have both designed considerable hospitality interiors. You can watch the videos featuring 2013 Designer of the Year Joey Shimoda, and 2013 Legend Michael Graves on Contract’s Vimeo page.

We have since been hard at work on the January/February edition of Contract magazine, which will feature stories on the 14 category winners, as well and in-depth profiles of the Designer of the Year and the Legend.

You can find out who the winners are by attending the Interiors Awards Breakfast on January 24 at Cipriani 42nd Street. A reception will begin at 7:30 a.m., and the breakfast and awards presentation commences at 8:30 a.m. Individual tickets are $245; a table for 10 is $2,450; and a Champion Table, which seats 10 in a premium location and will be recognized during the event, is available for $3,900.

To purchase tickets, visit

The 2013 Interiors Awards Breakfast

The 2013 Interiors Awards Breakfast




Comments are closed.